My name is Gary, and I’m an ESL teacher in Madison, Wisconsin

Hi. My name is Gary, and I’m an ESL teacher in Madison, Wisconsin. Last fall, spring, and summer I taught English in Russia and plan to return at some point in the future for a longer stay. I love the Russian language (it’s MUCH better than English) and I’m working each day toward my goal of mastering it (however, I have a LONG way to go). Please feel free to drop me a line if you’d like.

Best wishes,
Gary

1 Like

Hi Gary!

I'm Zabi. Nice to meet you. Russian used to be taught in our schools 40-50 years ago. Nowadays there are only few people who speak it here. 
 Did you fall in love with the Russian language before or after your teaching session there?

Best wishes,
 Zabi
1 Like

Hi, Zabi. Thank you for writing. Actually, I fell in love with all things Russian when I was around 9 years old. I lived at the time in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Every year they would have a Folk Fair at the Arena. That year they had a dance troupe from the Soviet Union. That was the day my life-long passion began. However, life got in the way of this until around nine years ago when I purchased a Russian Language cassette course from a bookstore.

So, how long have you been studying English, Zabi?

1 Like

Hi Gary,

I’ve been learning English since childhood. I started at school by translating every word in the textbook. In the late 90’s I found British Council library and I began listening to cassettes and reading magazines. Two years ago I bought my notebook and discovered the Internet. About two months ago I installed Skype and since than I’ve been speaking with non-native to improve my communication skills. Starting with Jan 2011 I want to prepare for IELTS test.

This morning I came across this article about a new male school in Madison.

Could you explain the difference between a district school and a charter male school?