I have some problems with english grammar and vocabulary

dear everybody, i am a non-native english learner and i have some problems with english grammar and vocabulary . hope to get help from u, thank u in advance :smiley:

1/ is there any word in english which describe a person who is very respectful, dutiful and dedicated to his/her parents (in my mother tongue, there is one definite adjective for that, but when i look up in dictionaries, they just define the word with tantamount phrases but not give an equivalent word…

2/ plz consider this sentence:
a long time ago, i was a young artist and came to France … i was travelling from place to place

a. where b. when

=> this is a multiple choice item in a test at school of mine, and the answer is a, but i don’t agree . first, in this kind of optional test, we can only choose 1 correct answer, so if a is right, surely b is not, but then why b is wrong? i can’t understand it very well…

second, if we use “where” here as a relative pronoun to connect the two clause, then the original sentence must be able to be splitted into two seperate sentences as follow:

a long time ago, i was a young artist and came to FRANCE.
i was travelling from place to place IN FRANCE

=> and if so, we can see that there is obviously a conflict in these two sentences: in the 2nd sentence, “i” was travelling from place to place in France, which means that i HAVE ALREADY BEEN in France, then at that time, how can i possibly CAME TO FRANCE? (according to the 1st sentence)

=> as for this matter, i have consult many people’s idea, both native and non-native, and they give very different answers as well as explanations. however, that just makes me more and more confused :? , so i post it here to consult ur idea, plz help me!

thank you once again for ur time! :stuck_out_tongue:
nessie.

Hello Nessie— and welcome to English-test.Net.

The word ‘tantamount’ in your vocabulary should be replaced by the word ‘synonymous’.