Hello from Venezuela! I'm Rosa...

Hello everyone! I’m Rosa and I’m from Venezuela. Hope I can practice more as it’s been 10 years since I took an English course. Wish you all well :slight_smile:

Hello Rosa and welcome to our forum! Your English is still pretty good – did you learn at school or have you been abroad?

Talk to you soon,
Torsten

TOEFL listening discussions: A conversation between a professor and a student discussing a possibility

Thank you Torsten.

I studied English at school but just the basics. I used to travel to New York for Christmas with my family when I was little; I didn’t speak much then but I was a good listener :slight_smile: Also, since I really enjoy listening to music I was always trying to understand the lyrics as much as I could and translate them. I’d say those little things were very helpful in the process of learning the language.
Then in 1998 I traveled to Oxford, England and studied there for four months. It was a bit difficult at first but I managed to accomplish the goals I set to myself. I started in low intermediate and for the last week there I was in Advanced I. When I came back to Venezuela I finished the Advanced I level at the British Council and I adventured to take the CAE test, I got a C! not the best grade I know, but I passed it! ( I had to prepare for that test by myself)

Since then I practice English by writing to friends and chatting online. I don’t get the chance to practice speaking but I do watch TV in English and whenever I rent movies I try to avoid the subtitles or use the closed caption so I can compare what I’m reading to what I’m listening.

Well that’s the story, I hope some of the things I do to practice English will be helpful to others.

Take care,
Rosa

1 Like

Hello, Rosa!
My name is Aida and I’m from Russia. I’m going to visit Margarita Island in January 2009. Could you tell me something usefull and interesting about your country? have you ever been in thisI sland?

Hello Aida!