TOEFL results...

Hello, I’m new to the the whole TOEFL thing so I have no idea about the scores in comparison to your level of English, but I have heard from many others that a good score is 120 and most people who are fluent in english get 120. I recently got my results, and I have to say I’m quite disappointed to get 118. Two points deducted from the speaking section. I was sure I didn’t do too well in the reading section but it seems it turned out fine. On the other hand I thought I did well in the speaking section, but apparently I got ‘Fair’ for the first section (speaking from personal experience or w/e it is) and I got good marks for the other two so its the first section in speaking that dropped my marks, contrary to my expectations. I would have thought the later parts of the speaking would be more harshly marked.

Do you guys think 118 is a good enough score to show on my report for uni applications? I’m thinking of retaking the test but the fees are too expensive. I’m in a state of despair because of my shocking marks…

TOEFL listening lectures: What is one problem with contribution approach?

I don’t think there is any University that cannot take a student with such a score.

To me, you did very well.

Is it 118 out of 120? Then it’s a great score! No doubt in it… Congrats…

There is no need of retaking and as Nzuahp said, any univ is ready to accept this score…

It seems to me you are joking. It’s an excellent result! I would like to get 110, but I don’t dare think about 118. I heard even native speakers hardly cope with it. So, apply whereever you want. My congratulations!

P.S. If it’s not difficult for you, please describe your method and list the material that you have used …

good luck