Toefl essay: a new movie theater in your neighborhood

It has recently been announced that a new movie theater may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Living in a good neighborhood is very important to have a better life because it is where you spend most of your time. If they build a new movie theater nearby, there will be a lot of debate about it, some people may agree and some other may disagree. From my point of view, it is good to have a movie theater in our neighborhood for two reasons which I explain later.

First, a movie theater will provide new entertainment for people. There is not much choice (there are not many options) for having a good weekend in small towns so watching movies in a cinema can be a good option. People can go to watch a movie in a cinema with their family or friends and have a good time together. For instance, when I was a high school student my favorite pastime was watching movies and I had a few friends who also were into movies. There was a movie theater near our school that changed its movies every other week. We would go to movies exactly at the first day when they started showing a new movie. I can remember a movie we saw those days, called "the last supper". It was a romance in which a woman who is a professor falls in love with a boy who is her student and at least 20 years younger. As we all were adolescent and almost at the age of that boy in the movie, we imagined ourselves in his place. After the movie finished we went to a café and discussed about it for hours. That is why it has remained in my mind after around 15 years. As you can see having a movie theater in your neighborhood can be entertaining and make unforgettable memories for you.