the constructions which don't change in reported speech

1.John is in Warsaw now.
Betty said John was in Warsaw now.

2.I have been lecturing for a few years now.
Anna said I had been lectiring for a few years now.

Above sentences are the examples of reprted speech after: ,said’’.

But there are some constructions which don’t change in the reported speech, for example: would like to, might, as in:

3.I would like to play a game.
She said I would like to play a game.

4.I might be at home now.
She said I might be at home now.

Please tell me all the constructions which don’t change in the reported speech and why don’t they change??

Many Thanks!!!:slight_smile:

1. I would not pair “now” with “was.” They don’t agree.

Betty said John is in Warsaw now.
Betty said John was in Warsaw.

The latter is fine, but it can give the impression that he was merely there at some time in the past or that you expect that he might already be gone.

1. “Have been,” the present perfect is appropriate here. “Had been” conveys that the person was up to a certain point and no longer is. This “now” works with the present perfect because it just means “so far.”

You will not alter tense just because you used “said.” The events that follow are still governed in the same manner by time.
[i]
You have been a good friend.
She said you have been a good friend.

You are a good friend.
She said you are a good friend.

You used to like dance music.
She said you used to like dance music.

You had been accepted.
She said you had been accepted.[/i]

There are times when you will change tense, but it’s not because you used “said.” [i]

John is writing a book. (John dies next week. The following comment happens afterward. )
She said John was writing a book.

Susan said John is a lawyer.
John says he is a doctor.
Susan said you were a lawyer. (I now know this isn’t true, so I can comfortably refer to it in the past tense.)

John said he is writing a novel, which you share in the sentences below.