Students can get fresh air and be physically active

It is believed that regular breaks during which students can get fresh air and be physically active help them to learn.

It is believed that regular breaks during which students can get fresh air and are physically active help them to learn.

Hi, I’m a student learning English as a foreign language.

I feel it’s also possible to use “are“ in above sentence, but my english teachers say that it is not possible because using ‘are’ in the text is contextually incorrect.

So never can ”are” be used, although it doesn’t matter formally -so, using ‘are’ in the sentence is grammatically incorrect because of the context.

I’ve known that using ‘be’ in that sentence instead of ‘are’ is more natural, but I don’t think using ‘are’ cannot be allowed. My teachers’ argument is contextual problem so I attach original text.

Thus, I really want to ask that in this text ‘are’ is not allowed, and using ‘are’ is too unnatural to use it in the text.

What makes Finnish education so good?

If you think the teachers must be very strict, think again! Finnish people believe that we should “let children be children.”

Many Finnish children start to learn through songs and games while they are in day care.

Then, at the age of seven, they begin formal academic studies. However, school hours are

short, and there isn’t much homework. There is also a mandatory 15-minute outdoor break for every hour of class.

It is believed that regular breaks during which students can get fresh air and be physically active help them to learn.

In addition, there is only one mandatory standardized test in Finland, and….

3 Likes

Hi Circle Dong, welcome to our forum. Your post contains a lot of sentences and for you to increase the chances of getting meaningful responses it’s better if you create one post for each sentence so we can go through each of your questions one step at a time. Let’s start with your first sentence.