Sentence: After cutting the vegetables and laying them on the table,...

Can any explain why the 1st one is better than the the second one?

1. After cutting the vegetables and laying them on the table, the chef’s assistant, then started to prepare the meat.

2. The chef’s assistant, having cut the vegetables and laying them on the table, then started to prepare the meat.

Thank you.

Can any explain why the 1st one is better than the the second one?

1. After cutting the vegetables and laying them on the table, the chef’s assistant, then started to prepare the meat.

2. The chef’s assistant, having cut the vegetables and laying them on the table, then started to prepare the meat.

I am no grammar expert but,

I would say the first is Present Progressive-Continuous.

The second is Present Perfect/Progressive-Continuous.

I would like someone better equipped than I to really explain it.

Kitos.

Thanks for your reply, Kitos.

I thought both sentences are in the same tense. Sentence (1) does not use “having cut… and laid” because “after” clearly tells what event took place first.

anwyway, these are my questions regarding the sentences.

In sentence (2), what happens if I put “having~table” before “The chef’s assistant~ prepare the meat.” does this make the sentence any better?

Or what if I say “After (having cut)~ and (laid) them on the table, the chef’s assistant~.” Is there any difference between this sentence and the sentence (1) above?

thank you.

Yes, it is a difficult problem sifting through the subtleties of both sentences, although I hope that Mr.M will say my suggestion is the correct one. (Only hoping mind. :)… as I’m not certain.)

Looks as though “they” are having a long coffee break.

I guess, both sentences are supposed to mean pretty much the same.

The only thing is that if you say “having cut”, then it should be “having laid” as well, not "having cut the vegetables and laying them”. That is why the first sentence is better:):slight_smile: