Reading is the best way to learn

I have been teaching English for 19 years. I have seen many students try to learn grammar, try to learn long lists of vocabulary, but where does it get them? It is like trying to study people by looking at body parts in a mortuary! A student needs to be in touch with real English. The simplest and most enjoyable is to read, read read in English. Start with books that you find easy (Graded readers). The more you read, the more you will understand. Then you can progress to ‘real’ books. Just choose books you enjoy and read wherever you can - on the train, in bed, sitting on the toilet.
I have written 14 readers and I know they work with the people who read them. I have some free stories on my website and you may like to look at my books as well.
Happy Reading!
Jeremy
perso.wanadoo.fr/jeremytaylor

Welcome to the forum:)
I can’t do anything more than agree :slight_smile: That’s the way I’ve been learning english and I can’t complain about the results :smiley:

Hi Jeremy,

I’d like to know if the readers you’ve written are original or not. I’ve seen many shortened and simplified versions of classic literature, and I even started reading some of them. I must say that I didn’t like it. That’s why I tried reading children’s stories, as the vocabulary was more likely to be understandable for me, and the stories were original.

I’ve also read some "Reader’s digest"s shortened tales, and I always was very dissapointed.

So, could you please tell me if you write your own stories? Is it hard for you to have to stick to just an amount limit of vocabulary, or to a basic grammar?