Problems with listening

Hi,

I have this awful problem and I don’t know what to do with it. I have been learning English for about a year. I use audiobooks. I read books every day, listen to tapes and repeat after the tapes. I have been doing it for 6 months, and there is no progress. When I listen to a radio I can catch some words but it’s still little to understand what they want to convey.
When I watch some films and listen to people from the USA or UK there is the problem. Sometimes when I watch films I can’t make some words out though I have subtitles. People talk too fast for me. There are some basic words, for example to turn, wood, to fight etc. and I have read these words thousend times but when I listen to the words I can’t recognize them.
I learn English for 2, 3 hours every day and I’m very accurate. So if you know, tell me where I make mistakes? What wrong do I do? or how long does it take to understand what people say?

Best regards,
Simon

Dear Simon, judging by the way you are able to write in English you have made great progress within a year! So you should concentrate on what you have achieved and then you will be able to learn even more. You say that when you are listing to the radio you can make out some words. Now, why don’t you start with these words? You can write down the words you understand and or even better phrases you pick up and then google them. This way you can learn how the words are used correctly. How long did it take you until you were able to understand every word in Polish? What you to understand means two things:

1. to understand the word phonetically (this means you can make out the sound and maybe even repeat the word)
  2. to understand the meaning of the word (this obviously means you have heard the word several time before)