MBA without full-time work experience?

Hi,

my name is Reka, I just joined the community. The main reason for doing this is that I am very very very confused :frowning:

I have just started preparing for the GMAT, and started doing research on business schools that offer MBA programmes - and I realized I have very little chances to be accepted anywhere, because I have only a few months of work experience (at 7-Eleven…). Even though I demonstrated leadership and determination (3 months as a sales associate, then next summer another 3 months, during which I took all the necessary tests for assistant manager - as far as I know, I am the only one who did the whole thing in less than 90 days). Do you think this counts towards “relevant work experience”?

I am sort of discouraged, even though I need to gain back my motivation to be able to study hard for the next months…

Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Reka Nagy

Hi Reka,

I am also new to GMAT n MBA but as far as i know , work experience counts 5 on 10 while applyin for a universities . well anyways you need not be discouraged , because once you have a good score in GMAT , you can get into good universities .

Regards,
Amritha

Hi Amritha, thanks for your opinion. What do you exactly mean by “work experience counts 5 on 10”? Percent? Or 5 out of 10 (so half of my application is based on the work experience)?

Are you going to apply to Europe or USA?

Reka :slight_smile:

I basically meant 5 out of 10 :slight_smile: , i am applying for USA , how about you and What materials are you refering for GMAT .

Amritha

5 out of 10?? That IS a lot! :frowning: That’s like no experience = you cut your chances in half :frowning:

I am applying for USA as well, however, I am not decided which schools to pick. Obviously, I need to go for a school that does not have a minimum work experience as an entry requirement.