How I scored a 760 on the GMAT

I took the GMAT exam the other week and I couldn’t believe it when the screen showed that I had scored in the top 1% in the GMAT Exam (I a 760). I decided to take the GMAT because one of my goals has always been an MBA. Right now my dream would be attending either Harvard of Stanford.

I thought to share how I was able to improve my score from a 600 to 760. I couldn’t afford to pay for a class so I studied all on my own. A few of my friends to Manhattan GMAT or Princeton Review classes, but I learnt everything myself.

To give you a heads up, those 3 months that I studied were a pain. I averaged over 6 hours of studying a day.

Remember that this is my own personal experience, and it’s only meant to be a guideline.

1. The exam can be beaten. It is standardized test so you will begin to see the same questions.

2. The first thing I did was buy the official GMAT book and take a practice test. I didn’t do well but at least I knew what it was like.

3. There are 300 questions in the official guide and I did them all and review. Remember to always review your questions (you should spend more time reviewing than you do on the exam itself)

4. Visit www.mba.com and you can download 2 free official GMAT exams. I found some very similar questions on the actual test

5. Try to find the Kaplan 800 review book or Manhattan GMAT books. I thought these were the best books

6. I think I took around 20 practice exams.

7. For practice questions I signed up for www.2minuteGMAT.com; they sent me questions every day which helped

8. It took me a few hours to finally fall asleep, so i only ended up sleeping for 4 hrs, but still the stress of the exam is enough to get you through. Don’t take any sleeping tablets; they aren’t necessary.

Last but not least, make sure to practice.

Feel free to message me if you want any more tips/advice.

Was this post helpful to anyone? I’d be happy to answer any messages anyone had.