English test (Fill each of the blanks with a suitable word or phrase...)

Hello teacher,

I have just finished this test. But I am not sure I did it well or not. Please check it for me. Thank you! Wallflowergirl

I. Fill each of the blanks with a suitable word or phrase

1. It must be twenty-fine yeas since I studied at school.
  2. He likes nothing more than/better than to sit and read the daily paper.
  3. He didn’t take kindly to being criticized.
  4. It’s dark! Mind that you don’t get lost.
  5. You couldn’t have won the prize or you’d have heard by now.
  6. On no occasion since then has she acted against her mother’s wishes.
  7. This is one of the best book I have ever read.
  8. It’s hard at first when you become widowed, but people eventually get used to living alone.
  9. They all turned up at the meeting with the exception of the treasure, who was ill.
  10. You’d better pull your socks up or you’d fall the exam.

II. Put the following into indirect speech.

1. ‘I hate getting up on dark morning’, grumbled Peter. ‘It’s horrible,’ agreed his wife, ‘but the mornings will be lighter soon and then it won’t be quite so bad.’
    Peter grumbled that he hated getting up on dark morning. His wife agreed it was horrible but the morning would be lighter soon and then it would be quite so bad.
  2. ‘The sales are starting tomorrow,’ said the typist. ‘As soon as we finish work the whole typing pool is going to make a dash for the shops.’ ‘I hope you will get what you want,’ I said
    The typist said the sales were starting the following day as soon as they finish work the whole typing pool was going to make a dark for the shops. I said I hoped they would get what they want.
  3. ‘I booked a double room on the first floor,’ said Mr. Jones. ‘I’m afraid we didn’t get your letter,’ said the receptionist, ‘and all the first and second floor rooms have been taken. But we could give you two single rooms on the third floor.’ ‘That wouldn’t do me at all,’ said Mr. Jones