Cover letter

I am going to submit cover letter together with other documents to apply of a postdoctoral position.

Could you help me to edit my letter?

Thank you very much.

Dear Dr…,

This letter is to express my interest in a postdoctoral position advertized on Tedjob.com. My background has given me the hands-on experience in virological researches that are related to your department’s projects.

I am a student from the University of Tokyo and will be graduating in March 2011. During the Master course, I succeeded in investigating the multiple combinations of P[13]-like genotype with G3, G4, and G5 in porcine rotaviruses. Currently, I’m carrying out the research in the field of diarrhea viruses in Japan for my Ph.D.

After I obtained the Master degree, I had an excellent opportunity to learn a variety of the scientific and technical skills as researcher at Department of Microbiology, Siriraj Hospital, Mahidol University. My work aims to develop a simple assay to differentiate influenza viruses with alpha2,3- or alpha2,6-linked receptor-binding preference. Through this project, I have also become familiar with growing H5H1 viruses, culturing MDCK, Vero, 293T, and A549 cell lines, and using BSL3 laboratory for the experiment.

I have enclosed my CV which provides additional details about my research for your review. I believe I can contribute intelligence, experience, and enthusiasm to your project. If you require any further information, I can be reached via e-mail wchanit@ yahoo.com.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely Yours,

I want to emphasize on my experiences acquired through working at Department of Microbiology, Siriraj Hospital, Mahidol University because the position I am looking for is related to those experiences. The consequence of this letter is okay?

Notes: