Contest! Meaning of 'I had a very good year that day'

Yesterday I heard a man say this sentence:

Can you guess what he meant? The winner of the contest wins the distinction of having won the contest. :slight_smile:

Hi Jamie,
I come from Bulgaria and in my country you can hear this sentence very often, especially in small villages where elderly people run their small farms. There is a saying here that “a day feeds a year”. Lets’ say that exactly in the middle of March they have to sow their field, and if this day (when they have to do it) turns out to be a cold one and the soil is still frozen or something unfavourable like that (I’m not an expert :slight_smile: ), they can’t do it and have to wait for a better time. This delay, though, results in a very bad harvest afterwards, respectively a bad year for them because this is how they make a living. So, in situations like this you can hear “I had a very bad year that day.” or “I had a very good year that day.”
Well, if that man happened to be Bulgarian, consider me a winner of the contest :slight_smile: but I doubt it.
Anyway, I had fun sharing this with you!
Have a great day!

Daniela’s version seems quite plausible to me. I found it very interesting, by the way.

But I’ll suggest another definition: could it mean that he played well or got a very good score in a competition/play/game? Or maybe he won the lottery? The first thing that crossed my mind was the expression ‘it made my day’, but now I don’t think it means exactly the same.

Quizzes are fun. Have you got any more :slight_smile: ?

Daniela wins the contest! Congratulations!