Conjunction like vs. as

Hi Friends,

Kindly peruse the following sentences:

1. She began to dance like a professional dancer dances on the stage.
  2. She began to dance as a professional dancer dances on the stage.

Which one of the above sentences is correct? Why?

Souba73

As and like are used in a number of different ways and can be different parts of speech.
‘as’ and ‘like’ - prepositions
As refers to something or someone’s appearance or function. Consider the following examples:
• ‘Before I became a teacher I worked as a waiter.’
• ‘I’m going to the fancy dress party as Superman.’
• ‘The sea can be used as a source of energy.’
The expression ‘I’ve been working as a dog’ sounds unusual because it suggests that you were doing the work of a dog!

Like has the meaning 'similar to' and is used when comparing things. Look at these examples: 

• ‘I’ve been working like a dog.’
• ‘She looks a bit like her brother.’
• ‘Just like you, I’m always a bit wary of large dogs.’
The expression ‘I’ve been working like a dog’ is idiomatic and means that you have been working very hard.
bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learn … tv63.shtml

Dear Eugene2114,

thank you very much for your reply.

I think you did not carefully peruse my above post. However, as you may know, ‘as’ and ‘like’ bear almost the same meaning when they are used as conjunction. But I strongly believe that there must be a subtle difference in meaning when they are used in this way. I would request to clarify the subtle difference.

You might not believe it, but I did note that you were trying to use ‘like\as’ as a conjunction in your sentence.
The problem though, I can’t see the idea behind your sentence. If you meant to say “She began to dance like (=in the same way that) a professional dancer does on the stage”, then the wording of the original seems rather odd.