Adapt my email please I want correct the expression and grammar

Hell everyone
I want to send email to University including enquiry. Please correct me the expressions.
To whom it may concern,
I intend to study a ph.D. At the … university.
I graduated from Masters degree in 2014 from USA. While I drop out from Ph.D. last year in British.
My question about admission is:
Should I study English /bring ILTES or the year I studied at Brish could work?
Thanks

1 Like

Hi, It might be better if you typed out the entire letter and so we could give you specific advice on how to optimize your letter. That being said, I will correct the expressions you have written

To Whom It May Concern, {capitalize the whole salutation}
I intend to [pursue] a [PhD] At the … [University].
I graduated [with a] Masters degree in 2014 from [name of university]. While I [dropped out of my Ph.D. program] last year in British. {This is not a complete sentence. Also, “in British” does not make sense - British is an adjective. Finally, “I withdrew from my PhD program” sounds more flattering}
My question about admission is: {ok, but I would not use the colon - “My question about admission is, what English proficiency tests are acceptable?” }
Should I study English /bring ILTES or the year I studied at Brish could work? {This sentence does not make any sense. Maybe you mean something like “Should I study English for a year and then take the ILTES test, or is it sufficient that I attended a British university for a semester?”}

3 Likes

Frankly, I’d say a person who commands such a standard of English as this is not eligible for pursuing a PhD programme which warrants the submission of thesis in English.

2 Likes

hi,
i done the master from USA IN 2014
then I started the phd in british but i drop out.
now i want to full new application in Australia university.