To begin and to start

Hello, everybody. I am a Russian. I have been learning English for several months. I saw this interesting site and decided to take a part in this forum. I have a question. Sometimes I say:
I began to learn English
Sometimes I say:
I started to learn English
I don’t see the difference between these expressions

Perhaps, I must say:

I began learning English
or
I starded learning English
Help me, please
Thank you for your time.
Kat

Hi Kat,

Thanks for your interesting question. In all honesty there is not a lot of difference between these two words. One clear difference is that ‘start’ is used with machines/motors and those kinds of things so that we have the expression ‘to start the car’ and also intransitively ‘the engine started’. But perhaps I could offer some suggestions about whether to use ‘start’ or ‘begin’ in the sort of context you have mentioned. Clearly they both give the idea of happening for the first time. You could make a very general comment that ‘start’ has the sense of happening literally for the first time ever and ‘begin’ means happening for the first time within a continuum or a series. So we could say that a child STARTS to speak at a certain age and prior to that has just used single disconnected words but you would say that a lesson/class BEGINS at a certain time . In the first use (START) this is the very beginning and in the second (BEGIN) it is a beginning which is going to happen every day at that time within a series or what you would expect.

To bring these meanings back to your original question I would say: I STARTED to learn/learning English when I was at school but I BEGAN to do/doing the tests this morning (and in this sense it suggests that you were doing the tests before and now you are beginning again this morning)

I hope this helps,

Best wishes

Alan

1 Like