The Future of New Orleans Part II

To whom it may concern,

My name is David Brouillette and I am a musician and resident of New
Orleans. I have lived in the city for eight years and have lived in Louisiana all my life. I began playing bass guitar 17 years ago when my father bought one in a local pawn shop. I played in Top 40 bands in high school and college. I studied music at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches Louisiana and after graduating I moved to New Orleans. What attracted me to the city was its thriving music scene, which is very different from the regular American musical culture. After a few years of working in restaurants, I landed a gig with a successful local band called Vivaz. The band plays a mixture of Salsa and Latin Jazz and has produced two albums. We are regulars at the famous New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival, and play weddings, private parties, and local clubs. In addition to performing with Vivaz, I started a project studio called Universal Dream Recording as a side business to make ends meet four years ago. I build the studio in the spare bedroom of my apartment. The philosophy for the studio was to give local artist the chance to hone their craft in an environment free of the normal stresses encountered in high dollar studios. The studio had clients involved in a rich variety of musical styles. Artist were free to do what they wanted when they recorded with me, and to give you an idea of the diversity, I have recorded artist singing in five languages. The studio and band are my only sources of income, and even though it barely paid the bills, the work was rewarding, and was what I had dreamed of all my life.