Specialize in one subject or Take classes in many subjects?

1. (075) Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which is better? Use specific reasons and support your answer.

Different universities require differently in students’ subject. Some put emphasis on students’ all-round development while others intent to develop students’ professional qualities. In my opinion, in most cases, people attend the university to specialize in a specific subject, even though there are a lot of reasons to take classes in many subjects.

First of all, there are innumerable things in our world that is interesting and worthwhile to study. However, we must confront to the fact that only we focus on one subject and specialize in it, can we make deep and full use of our knowledge. For example, now I am studying computer programming that I am very interested in. If the university required a lot of other subjects, I would have no enough time to deep understand in programming. Therefore, universities should require students to specialize in one subject.

Moreover, it is an undeniable fact that all-round development of a student also has a lot of advantages to name. And increasingly amount of work places require multi-disciplined person today. However, the person who still has a good command of one subject, acquired professional qualities, is more welcome by many companies that offering a stable job.

On the other hand, too many curriculums may hinder our education. Sometimes we get lost in extra curriculums and do not pay attention to regular classes. Sometimes, it would induce unnecessary wasting. For example, if an university offer a large variety of courses such as ceramic craft, theatre art, fencing and something like, in which some courses are not so popular and have no student willing to attend, would waste a lot of resources.