Should young people start living independently or live with their parents? ( A TOEFL Writing Topic)

An interesting phenomenon showcases that young people are more likely to live independently in US. In contrast, in China, more young people tend to live with their parents if it allows until they get married or move to another city, having to live by themselves. In my opinion, I prefer to live independently as soon as possible, mainly based on the following reasons.

First, young people living by themselves tend to better and faster adapt to society. It is a vital skill of survival. For example, I grew up in a remote and rural village. When I graduated from college, I started to live in a big city for work, far away from my parents. Since then, I have learned how to cook, take care of myself, and communicate with my neighbors. Quickly, I grew lots of social skills. Besides, I learned how to repair a toilet, change a broken lamp, pay my taxes, etc. I had never had an opportunity of knowing such survival skills until I set to live by myself. In contrast with my friends who are still living with their parents, I have achieved a lot, obtaining many abilities that others admire and never had a thought to gain. That’s why I support young people should live independently as soon as possible.