How to effectively organize learning two foreign languages?

Torsten,

Probably this kind of topics might had been discussed in your forums previously…
I would like to know your and may be some other member’s opinions concerning to following:
How is it effective to organize English language studying/improvement with parallel studying other foreign languages (for instance German)?
Let me just clarify the situation.
I have been studying English for many years and using it in my professional work. I have a certain vocabulary stock though I feel that there is lots of space for expanding it as well for improving my grammatical skills.
Meantime recently I had started to learn German. Generally I had found that my knowledge of English language is very supportive while learning German. As non-native English speaker even I had tried to learn German in English in hope to keep English very active…?
However sometimes I am feeling that really I need to deal with two languages in more efficient and professionally recommended way.
At this stage I am not caring with fact that similar words in German I am mostly pronouncing like as English words. I hope that during time it would be solved…
I mean may be it is better to separate German from English at all? Let’s say one week for English another one for German or something like that… Do you know some advanced practical methods?
Is there known scientifically approved contraindication for simultaneously studying foreign languages keeping in mind that the levels are different ore one of language’s more and less is appropriated…?
I had heard that it is not advised to start learning two foreign languages simultaneously from very beginning.

Sorry for grammatical mistakes.

Thanks in advance
Looking foreword to hear from you.
Best wishes
Artsvi