How can I improve my speaking skills?

Hi Alan and All,

I have a question on Oral communication and I think you would answer better if you could understand my background.

I am an Indian non-native English speaker. Some of us speak English just by converting our thoughts to English…But I found that sometimes native speakers in our office is not able to understand whatever I am talking if I talk in that way…

One technique of language learning is repeating whatever language native speaker is using at a particular situation. Sometimes when a native speaker faces changes for sentence, i used to think i have used improper language and how native speaker would have spoken at this situation to avoid awkward ness. Is there any product available which has all these details?

Please advise.

Thanks
Mangal

I have some experience of Indians dealing with native speakers (in a call centre environment). Generally, the first issue is pronuniciation or clarity of speech and the second is speed. You might find a huge difference if you just slow down a little and try to speak as clearly as possible.

As for language products where you can listen and repeat, you could get a language tape or CD for your car and repeat it when you drive to work. You can get them at any good bookshop, or you could even download a podcast.

my site:
www.roadtogrammar.com

Any inputs from others?

Hi Mangalakumar,