Greetings from Russia :)

Hello everybody!
My name is Galya and I come from Russia as you may see from the name of the topic. I found this forum accidentally when I was trying to find out the difference between phrases “I like it more” and “I like it better”. And here I saw a very good explanation of it, so I decided to stay here for a little longer. I see that it’s possible to record a voice message here and I just couldn’t resist it. :slight_smile:

As for me, I’m a student of International Business. I’m studying economy, English, German language and a lot of other subjects which are not really that necessary. I have been studying English since 9 years old and, fortunately, I had and still have good teachers. I am very grateful to them because now when I speak to somebody, people can easily understand me. Hopefully, it easy for you too. :wink:

I’ve registered here to improve my pronunciation. I know I have a Slavonic accent and I would like to get rid of it or at least to make it less evident.

Sorry if I took too much of your time and thank you for wasting it on me. :slight_smile:

Hello there,
Yes, you are right! Your accent is very obvious, I could tell you are from Russia or at least from a country like one from the Baltic States, Ukraine or Belarus. I am from Romania and my language permits me to easily gain any kind of English accent. I like the American one but I’ll be soon using the British one all day long. My advice to you is to take a long English word, put someone to pronounce it properly (or use an automated script) and then repeat it part by part. It’s the way I learned German and Russian at the basic levels without too much fuss and I bet it will work for your English as well!