Acquaintance: My name is Valentyna. I'm from Ukraine, Dnipropetrovsk city...

Hello everyone! First of all, Id like to say big thanks for such a good site. My name is Valentyna. Im from Ukraine (Dnipropetrovsk city). But I live in England with my husband. Ive been here since January 2008. So Im new in England also.
I`ve leant english in UA and still keep going to do it in UK.
But one difference is I learned american language more then english language. so now I have some problem with english pronouncing.
So now I do all my best to do less mistake in language.
with best regard
Valentyna

1 Like

Hello, Valentyna, and welcome to English-test.net.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with American pronunciation, and any Englishman who tells you so is bigoted.

Hi Mister Micawber!
I didnt mean, that something wrong with american pronunciation, Ive noteced that it`s difference in pronounciation when I am listening how they talk to each other, or by tv. they are never offend me or laught at my pronounciation, people here are quite patiant and understand me and they tell me how they would say it. But when I am watching tv or move, I am lost.
with regards

Hello Valentyna,

Welcome to our forum and many thanks for your question. The good thing about English is that there are so many accents and after while you get used to any of them. By the way, if you like you can also record your own voice here on the forum.

Let me know what you think.
Many thanks,
Torsten[YSaerTTEW443543]

TOEIC listening, photographs: A knight on horse[YSaerTTEW443543]

Hi Torsten!
Lots of thanks for your lessons. From your last lesson 32 that you sent to me, I see how right you are about passive and active skills.