600 essential words for TOEIC test!

Hi everybody,

I am willing to take TOEIC test, I also want to spend more time for preparing before taking test, but I am busy working at office, doing my housework. I think that I should spend a little time for sending topics in this forum to improve my English. By the way, each day I will post a topic in english-test.net forum. Now I am studying a book: “600 essential words for TOEIC test”, I am glad to share my knowledge in this forum. Everyday, I will send an unit in this book for your reference. First of all, today I will talk some strategies to improve your vocabulary.

The English language consists of more than 250,000 words, far more than most other languages. So you should have strategy to learn vocabulary. To lear a new word, of course, you first have to across it. Therefore, you must read it in English as much as you can. The best way to improve your vocabulary is to read routinely. The more you read, the more words you will encounter. Once you have gotten into the habit of reading, you can systematically build your vocabuly by doing five things:

1. Analyze word parts.
2. Recognize grammatical forms.
3. Recognize word families.
4. Make your own personal distionary.
5. Keep a daily reading log.

I. ANALYZE WORD PARTS:

Many English words have Greek and Latin prefixes. roots, and suffixes. Memorizing a comprehensive list will increase your vocabulary exponentially. For example, a prefix is a part of a word that comes at the beginning of a word, like the prefix -pre at the beginning of the word prefix. Prefix pre means before. Once you learn the meaning of this prefix, you will be able to use it to help you figure out the meaning of a new word that contains the same prefix. Example: predetermine, predict, predecessor…

Look at these examples:

1. Word: RELOCATION - the act of moving again to another place
  • Prefix: RE - happens a second time.
  • Root: LO - place
  • Suffix: TION - the act of